Tuesday September 5th, 2017

Stage 16Circuito de Navarra / Logroño

Start 13h32 (Local time)

Key moments

Stage summary05.09.2017

Froome dominates the time-trial

Chris Froome (Team Sky) made the most of the ITT set at Logroño on Tuesday, claiming a second stage victory at La Vuelta 2017 and extending his GC lead. With a time of 47'00” to cover 40.2km, the British rider gained 29” on Wilco Kelderman (Sunweb) and 57” on Vincenzo Nibali (Bahrain-Merida), still 2nd overall but with a delay up to 1'58”. Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo) makes it into the top 5 of the race for the first time this year. With many mountain challenges still ahead of...

read more

Alberto Contador (Trek-Segafredo): “I'm happy. I would have been very happy if I'd won the stage, but I'm happy. Furthermore, I didn't have time checks. I didn't know what the gaps were with my rivals, I was bit in the unknown. It was a good time-trial, and I'm even more motivated because the legs didn't hurt when I woke up. That means we made the most of the rest day and now let's see what we can do in this this last week. I knew it would be almost impossible for me to win such a flat...

read more

Chris Froome (Team Sky), stage winner and overall leader: “I was just riding at the speed that I thought best. I wasn't really getting that many time checks from the car so I didn't really know where I was. I presumed it was probably not good news so I was a bit worried half-way through but only coming in the last 6-7km I found out I was on track to fight for the stage. It's a big relief and obviously I'm super happy to be in this position. That's an amazing feeling to extend my lead and...

read more

Official Timekeeper

jersey wearers 2017

Classifications after the stage 21

Official apps

Official store


Receive exclusive news about the Vuelta

Partners of la Vuelta