Today's stage

Sunday, September 10th

Arroyomolinos / Madrid

Key moments

2017 Route

Sporting aspects

The route

Running from Saturday August 19th to Sunday September 10th 2017, the Vuelta will be made up of 21 stages and will cover a total distance of 3,324.1 kilometres.

  • 5 flat stages and 1 flat with high-altitude finales stage
  • 8 hill stages
  • 5 mountain stages
  • 1 individual time trial stage
  • 1 team time trial stage

Distinctive aspects of the race

  • 40.2 km individual time trial
  • 13.7 km team time trial
  • 50 summits
  • 2 rest days

The 72nd edition of the Vuelta will depart, for the third time in its history, from another country. The tour will take off from the French city of Nîmes, and two stages will take place entirely on Gaul territory. We will also ride through Andorra, which will host a finale and a departure.

The race continues to have the same bonus points system that awards 10, 6 and 4 seconds to the first three riders in each stage, respectively, and 3, 2 and 1 seconds to the first three riders to complete each intermediate sprint.

In the Vuelta, not only the general classification is at stake, riders also fight to be first in the points classification, or to become King of the Mountain in each edition. Points are obtained through the following system: 25 points are given to the stage winner, 20 to the rider that takes second place, 16 to the rider that comes third, 14 to 4th place, 12 to 5th place and then from 10 to 1 point between 6th and 15th place, respectively. Intermediate sprints award 4, 2 and 1 points to the first three riders to complete each one.

14 new start cities

Nîmes (start of Stage 1)
Prades Conflent Canigó (start of Stage 3
Vila-real (start of Stage 6)
Llíria (start of Stage 7)
Orihuela. Ciudad del Poeta Miguel Hernández (start of Stage 9)
Motril (start of Stage 12)
Coín (start of Stage 13)
Alcalá la Real (start of Stage 15)
Circuito de Navarra (start of Stage 16)
Villadiego (start of Stage 17)
Suances (start of Stage 18)
Caso. Parque Natural de Redes (start of Stage 19)
Corvera de Asturias (start of Stage 20)
Arroyomolinos (start of Stage 21)

8 new finish cities

Nîmes (finish of Stage 1)
Gruissan. Grand Narbonne. Aude (finish of Stage 2)
Alcossebre (finish of Stage 5)
ElPozo Alimentación (finish of Stage 10)
Antequera. Los Dólmenes (finish of Stage 12)
Tomares (finish of Stage 13)
Los Machucos. Monumento Vaca Pasiega (finish of Stage 17)
Santo Toribio de Liébana (finish of Stage 18)

The stages

1Team time trialSaturday, August 19thNîmes / Nîmes13.7 km
2FlatSunday, August 20thNîmes / Gruissan. Grand Narbonne. Aude203.4 km
3MountainMonday, August 21stPrades Conflent Canigó / Andorra la Vella158.5 km
4FlatTuesday, August 22ndEscaldes-Engordany / Tarragona. Anella Mediterránea 2018198.2 km
5HillyWednesday, August 23rdBenicàssim / Alcossebre175.7 km
6HillyThursday, August 24thVila-real / Sagunt204.4 km
7HillyFriday, August 25thLlíria / Cuenca. Ciudad Patrimonio de la Humanidad207 km
8HillySaturday, August 26thHellín / Xorret de Catí. Costa Blanca Interior199.5 km
9FlatSunday, August 27thOrihuela. Ciudad del Poeta Miguel Hernández / Cumbre del Sol. El Poble Nou de Benitatxell174 km
-Rest dayMonday, August 28thProvincia de Alicante
10FlatTuesday, August 29thCaravaca Año Jubilar 2017 / ElPozo Alimentación164.8 km
11HillyWednesday, August 30thLorca / Observatorio Astronómico de Calar Alto187.5 km
12HillyThursday, August 31stMotril / Antequera. Los Dólmenes160.1 km
13FlatFriday, September 1stCoín / Tomares198.4 km
14MountainSaturday, September 2ndÉcija / Sierra de La Pandera175 km
15MountainSunday, September 3rdAlcalá la Real / Sierra Nevada. Alto Hoya de la Mora. Monachil129.4 km
-Rest dayMonday, September 4thLogroño
16Individual time trialTuesday, September 5thCircuito de Navarra / Logroño40.2 km
17MountainWednesday, September 6thVilladiego / Los Machucos. Monumento Vaca Pasiega180.5 km
18HillyThursday, September 7thSuances / Santo Toribio de Liébana169 km
19HillyFriday, September 8thCaso. Parque Natural de Redes / Gijón149.7 km
20MountainSaturday, September 9thCorvera de Asturias / Alto de l'Angliru117.5 km
21FlatSunday, September 10thArroyomolinos / Madrid117.6 km



2000 years ago, the Roman era became ingrained in the streets of Nîmes. The city and its more than 154,000 inhabitants, treasure perfectly preserved remains from that era, which make it a firm candidate to become part of UNESCO’s World Heritage listing. Characterised for its charm and beauty, its historical city centre houses numerous marvels and secrets from the 16th, 17th and 18th centuries. Every one of them is undeniable proof of its amazing past and, together, they justify the city’s title of “City of Art and History”. Les Arènes de Nîmes, an amphitheatre dating back to the 1st century, la Maison Carrée, an ancient Roman temple from the same era, and the 18th century Jardins de la Fontaine are just some of the examples of the patrimonial treasure found in the city that will host the Grand Departure of the 2017 Vuelta.

Nîmes is the capital of the Gard region, in the South of France and figures among the country’s 20 most important cities. Numerous museums, libraries and theatres make up the DNA of its cultural essence, all of which complement a strong love of sport. A sister city to Spain for its long-standing bullfighting and flamenco tradition, the streets of Nîmes are filled with bars and restaurants where one can always find tapas and good wine. This Franco-Spanish balance is even more obvious, if possible, in its multitudinous Fair that takes place every June. Historic and modern all at once, dynamic and cosmopolitan, Nîmes is a city worth discovering.


Wednesday, 16th of August: The Permanent Office and the Press Room open at the Musée de la Romanité (Roman Museum).
Friday, 18th of August: 2017 Vuelta team presentation at the Jardins de la Fontaine (Fountain Gardens).
Saturday, 19th of August: 1st stage: Nîmes > Nîmes (TTT).
Sunday, 20th of August: 2nd stage: Nîmes > Gruissan. Grand Narbonne.


Nîmes will host the third Vuelta Grand Departure to take place outside Spain. 20 years after Lisbon 1997, and after 2009 departure from Assen, the Spanish tour jumps away from its borders once again to hold the first official start to the race in France.

The continuous search for innovative elements that add a creative touch to the Vuelta routes has led the race’s organisation to take a step outside our borders. Lisbon marked the first of our ventures in foreign lands and, following in those footsteps, we then visited the Assen Circuit (in Holland) in 2009, the first of a series of proposals that gave the race a new direction. A nocturnal time trial in Seville in 2010, a route through the heart of the San Fermines with a finale in the Pamplona bullring in 2012, a barge in the waters of the Arousa Estuary in 2013 and a breakwater in the Costa del Sol in 2015 are just a few examples.

A visit to the French Pyrenees with a high-altitude finale at the Aubisque mountain pass (stage 14 of the 2016 Vuelta) was the latest preamble to formalise the Spanish race’s definitive arrival in France. Before Nîmes, the grand Vuelta protagonist was Bayonne, with up to 12 stages that either started or ended in its streets back when the newspaper El Correo Español del Pueblo Vasco used to organise the race (1955-1978). Also on the list are Luz- Saint-Sauveur (1992 and 1995), Cauterets (2003) and, more recently, Peyragudes (2013). In 2017, Nîmes won’t just be another host: it will have a starring role in the first two stages, that will take place entirely on French soil, for the first time in Vuelta history.

jersey wearers 2017

Classifications after the stage 21

Official apps

Official Timekeeper

Official store


Receive exclusive news about the Vuelta

Partners of la Vuelta